Classical Islamic World Book Prize

Gorgias Press is delighted to announce that the international Classical Islamic World Book Prize (CIW) is available again for 2018. Based on the decision of an internationally renowned panel of scholars, the CIW will recognise three exceptional early career contributions to the academic study of the classical Islamic world. In particular, the CIW will invite scholars from across the world to submit unpublished monographs that are either revised PhD theses or first Postdoctoral monographs.


The winners of the CIW will be announced in August 2018. The winning submission will be awarded an inscribed plaque, a contract to publish their monograph under Gorgias Press’ Islamic History and Thought Series, and $500 worth of Gorgias Press publications. Prizes will also be awarded to the second and third place submissions. The panel of judges is as follows:

Professor Shams Inati - Villanova University

Professor Maher Jarrar - American University of Beirut

Dr. Harry Munt - The University of York

Professor Ahmed El Shamsy - University of Chicago

Professor Adam Talib - American University of Cairo


Dr. George Kiraz, Editor-in-Chief of Gorgias Press, said:

‘‘The Classical Islamic World prize is an important part of Gorgias’ longstanding commitment to supporting unique and valuable research on both the Islamic world and the wider Near East across Late Antiquity. Most importantly, the prize will highlight and support the important work being carried out by young academics at a point in their careers when such support is most needed.’’


To enter a submission, please send the following information, in pdf format, to

- Covering Letter: This should include your name, contact details/affiliation(s), and the names/affiliations of your supervisors, if applicable.

- Letter of Support: In a maximum of 700 words, provide an abstract of your thesis/monograph and describe what unique contribution your book makes to the field.

- References: Provide up to two letters of support from supervisors, or established specialists in the field who are familiar with your book, on the originality and value of the work.

- CV

- The manuscript

The deadline for submissions will be Monday 19th February 2018 (midnight). For more information about the CIW, the submission guidelines and criteria, and the judging process, please contact Gorgias Press’ Islamic Studies editor:



The 2017 winners are as follows


2nd Place: Mehmetcan Akpinar

Mehmetcan Akpinar is a research and teaching associate at the Department of Oriental and Islamic Studies at the University of Tubingen. He researches and teaches on different topics of Islamic Intellectual History, with a specialization in Early Islamic Historiography, Political Thought in Classical Islam, Hadith, and Early Islamic History. He obtained his PhD from the University of Chicago, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, with a dissertation entitled "Narrative Representations of Abu Bakr in the 2nd / 8th century."


3rd Place: Ahmad Sukkar

Ahmad Sukkar is currently the Andrew W. Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow at the Centre for Arts and Humanities at the American University of Beirut. His fellowship combines research and teaching. His work examines the interaction between culture and architecture in connection with design, heritage, and identity in the Middle Eastern cities. Conducting research on the humanities and Islamic architecture, he has completed the Imam Bukhari Visiting Research Fellowship at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies, which was supported by awards from both the Oxford centre and the Barakat Trust in Oxford. He completed a PhD in Humanities and Cultural Studies at Birkbeck College, University of London.